Prem Krishnamurthy

Prem Krishnamurthy er gjest under årets Independent Study Program ved Rogaland Kunstsenter. Krishnamurty jobber innenfor grafisk design og er grunnlegger av forlaget Project Projects, drev galleriet P! og K! i New York, og underviser blant annet ved Bard College. 


Prem Krishnamurthy is a New York-based designer, curator, educator, and writer. 

As a Founding Principal of Project Projects, he is the recipient of Cooper Hewitt Museum’s 2015 National Design Award for Communication Design, the USA’s highest recognition in the field. He has collaborated with museums and institutions such as the Art Institute of Chicago, Bozar Brussels, Carnegie International 2018, Cooper Hewitt, Guggenheim, Harvard, Istanbul Design Biennial, M+, MoMA, The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago, RISD Museum, SALT Istanbul, Whitney, and Yale University Art Gallery on significant identity, spatial, publication, and interactive projects.

Prem is also the Founder and Curator of P!, a critically-acclaimed exhibition space in New York City’s Chinatown. Since opening in 2012, P! has mounted over forty exhibitions and projects with Åbäke, Mel Bochner, Katarina Burin, Heman Chong, HOWDOYOUSAYYAMINAFRICAN?, Elaine Lustig Cohen, Aaron Gemmill, Mathew Hale, Leslie Hewitt, Maryam Jafri, Christopher Kulendran Thomas, Karel Martens, Moniker, Brian O‘Doherty, Sarah Oppenheimer, Amie Siegel, Société Réaliste, Wong Kit Yi, and others. The space’s exhibition program has been reviewed widely in publications such as Artforum, Frieze, Art in America, ArtReview, The New York Times, The New Yorker, and The Wall Street Journal

In addition, Prem has co-edited books including MATRIX/Berkeley: A Changing Exhibition of Contemporary Art (Project Project with Elizabeth Thomas, DAP, 2008), Speculation, Now (with Vyjayanthi Rao and Carin Kuoni, Duke, 2015), and Draw It With Your Eyes Closed: The Art of the Art Assignment (Paper Monument, 2012). Prem is the Associate Editor of the art journal Paper Monument, and serves on the Board of Directors of Triple Canopy and the Advisory Board of the Vera List Center for Art and Politics at The New School.